In Ohio, what used to be known as a DUI is now known as an OVI-operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs . This subjects you to possible jail time, fines, and a license suspension. Knowing your rights can help you make an informed decision when you face this charge.
OVI and DUI in Ohio
DUI stands for “driving under the influence,” while OVI stands for “operating a vehicle under the influence.” While they might seem similar, OVI describes a situation where a driver is found operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other substance that might impair their ability to safely operate the vehicle.
OVI is described as driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.08% or higher. This number is reduced to 0.02 for drivers under 21 years and 0.04 for commercial vehicle drivers who are arrested and charged with OVI while operating the commercial truck.
Penalties for an OVI or DUI Charge In Ohio
If you are charged with an OVI or DUI in Ohio, there are significant penalties you might face. They include:
- Court Costs and Fines: OVI or DUI charges come with hefty fines, ranging from a minimum mandatory fine of $375 to $1075 on a first time offense. t. You may also be required to pay court costs.
- Jail Time: For a first-time OVI or DUI charge, you can expect to serve between three days and six months in jail, depending on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in your system, during the time of the arrest. A third offense could mean up to 12 months behind bars, or more, depending on your BAC level.
- Driver’s License Suspension: You can also expect your driver’s license to be suspended if you are convicted of an OVI or DUI in Ohio. The length of the suspension will depend on the facts surrounding your case, the number of past OVI convictions you have, and the amount of alcohol found in your system at the time of your arrest, in addition to whether or not you refused a chemical test like a breathalyzer.
- Ignition Interlock Device: Depending on your case, you could be required to install an ignition interlock device before you can get privileges to drive. You will need to blow into the device before starting your car. If it detects alcohol on your breath, it will prevent your vehicle from starting and will trigger a violation with the court.
How Long Does an OVI or DUI Conviction Stay On Your Record in Ohio?
If you have an OVI conviction in Ohio, the conviction will remain on your record forever, at least under current Ohio sealing and expungement law.
Get in Touch with our Cleveland OVI and DUI Attorneys Today
If you’re facing an OVI or DUI charge in Ohio, having experienced legal counsel on your side is crucial. At AJLJ, our OVI and DUI attorneys have the resources and skills to help defend your rights in court. We understand the dynamics of Ohio OVI and DUI law, so you can rest assured we will do everything in our power to protect your rights and freedom. Contact us today to get started on your case.